[flaviocopes] The Programming Basics Course - Introduction to Software Engineering

Introduction to Software Engineering

With the 2 previous modules as a solid base, we can dive into some more advanced Software Engineering topics

What is software engineering

Programmers often use the term software engineer as a synonym to describe their profession.

It’s common and I’d say it’s almost equivalent these days.

Software engineering however describes a specific kind of engineering that I could say is parallel to the craft of programming.

You could be a great programmer and not use even one of the main practices grouped under the umbrella term “software engineering”:

• testing
  • requirements analysis
  • software design

All those things are focused on creating a well defined path towards building reliable, correctly working, and high quality software in our industry.

I’ve been to an engineering school, and I have a degree in computer engineering, so I know how those topics are very highly praised in the field.

Knowing about all those things will make you a more well rounded developer, so let’s dive into each one of them.

I will expand on 3 topics in this module:

• Software lifecycle
  • Requirements analysis
  • Testing

but I want to say that the topic is really, really, really vast.

Take those things as starting points.

Software lifecycle

Traditional software books described the process of writing software in this way: you gather the requirements, then you start developing the software, done (with more intermediate steps, but you get the point).

Software is not built from top to bottom.

Building software is an iterative process that involves the analysis of the requirements, designing the application, developing one part of the application, writing tests, refactoring, performance optimization, and so on.