Full Time Game Dev

THE LEGAL STUFF

So, how exactly do you ensure you’ve started a game studio legally? If you’re in the United States, or live in a country with a similar legal system, it’s not that hard. In-fact, in the United States, you can start a business without really doing anything at all (just as long as you properly file your business’s taxes — I recommend getting a CPA when you do so!)

However, as a US resident, my experience starting a game studio relates to the various legal parameters that are acceptable in the United States. Things may differ for you depending on your state, country, province, etc. Additionally, please note that I am not a CPA or lawyer , so it’s important you contact a local CPA if you want 100% accurate information. When it comes to legalese, it’s pretty much impossible for a layman like me to be 100% correct. That said, I’ve created a video below to explain my understanding of taxes, LLCs, and starting your company legally. There’s a reason this video isn’t embedded in this course: the content should not be used as a foundational guide similar to the rest of this course’s content . Taxes and legal mumbo jumbo are an amorphous, ever-changing series of rules.

So, for absolute clarity, be sure you contact/hire a CPA or whatever the equivalent of a CPA is in your region! Hiring a CPA isn’t what you think: they aren’t employees. For me, I pay my CPA about a thousand bucks every year during tax season, and also have them handle payroll taxes every quarter.

That said, here’s the video giving my understanding of starting a business, legally! Enjoy!

Homework | Get Inspired!

GAME STUDY!

Take some time to simply watch the trailers below, and portions (if not all) of the Let’s Plays!

UNDERTALE

LIMBO

DEAD CELLS

STARDEW VALLEY

HOLLOW KNIGHT

THE BINDING OF ISAAC: AFTERBIRTH PLUS

PAPERS PLEASE

ENTER THE GUNGEON: A FAREWELL TO ARMS

DON’T STARVE: TOGETHER

CELESTE

BONUS: NEVERSONG

Workbook | Game Design Bible